Need help please

Db1060

Non-member
i’m new to saltwater and need some help. This morning i woke up walked into the room with my tank and heard some noise from the tank. So i check the built in sump and saw that the return pump hose looked like it was loose. I shut the pump off and fixed the hose put it back into the tank and turned it back on. All of asudden its spitting cloudy stuff “i think salt” into the tank. I looked at the bottom of the RP chamber and noticed the crystaled salt. How should i resolve this problem?

Should i move my heater into the return pump section?

My build is
- 10gallon innovative nano tank
- koralia 240 Powerhead
-aquatop titanium 100w heater “set at 78”
- kessil a80

Salinity is at 1.027
Please help
-dAn

Hi Welcome to reefing. Your salinity seems to be on the high end, so if it is salt, you don' need it. You could siphon it out or suck it out with a turkey baster. How long have you been set up? Was your saltwater completely premixed before you added it to your tank?

Remove water and add DI to bring the salinity down to your desired goal (1.023-1.025 is where I aim to keep mine). Check salinity frequently to ensure none of the precipitated salt becomes dissolved.

When you add new salt water during a water change do you thoroughly mix it or add the salt directly to your tank? If the water is not to tank temperature not all will dissolve and may leave behind residue. Also if salt water sits still for too long I find you may get some precipitate but not in crystal form.

Work on stabilizing the salinity now and lets us know how you mix salt/do water changes, Top offs, and maybe a picture or two might help diagnose the problem. To me it sounds like settling of some precipitate... but again that would not be a crystal instead it would be a milky white bottom.

Good luck!