BRS kalkwasser vs 2 part

aresangel

Tim- 2020- Secretary, 2019 BRS President
BRS Member
Ok,

So I got a doser, saw the Father’s Day sale and ordered BRS 2 part... or thought I did. Checked shipping email and I got kalkwasser!

So here is my question. Since kalkwasser is on the way, what is the major pros/cons of kalk vs 2 part?

Also since kalk is missing magnesium should I buy a magnesium packet? I have been dosing coral up for the last 3-4 months and have screwed everything up with lack of stability. I was hoping 2 part would save me from messing it up, but alast, I ordered the wrong thing.

What’s everyone’s preference and reasons? (Btw. BRS is out of their 2 part right now so I am out of luck either way for that unless I buy the bulk package for $100.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

At some point Kalkwasser may not be enough to keep up with your alk and calc demand, specifically if you have a SPS dominant tank. I feel I have better control with two part to get my levels. You may get away with Kalk if you have mostly softies, lps..

At some point Kalkwasser may not be enough to keep up with your alk and calc demand, specifically if you have a SPS dominant tank. I feel I have better control with two part to get my levels. You may get away with Kalk if you have mostly softies, lps..

At this point I have mostly softies because the lps did not take kindly to my negligence /swings from hand dosing. The sps definitely hated that because they all left my tank.

I just want a “self dosing” system so I can’t screw it up as bad as I did. I also don’t want to mess up my ato pump though...

I have used both kalk and 2 part. Sometimes together and had a well stocked SPS tank.
The trick with kalk is to get the parameters where they should be. Say 450 ppm Cal and 8-10 dkh alk.