DIY T5 / LED Hybrid for SPS growth

RMc

Non-member
W14VOe3.jpg

First Draft of the fixture - Light Simulation produced in Maxwell Render engine, model made using Sketchup 2016

Hi All, I've been bit by the LED bug but I feel like there's something lacking...I've been working towards a perfect LED system for nearly two years now and while it grows I just don't get the same reaction from coral that I was with T5's.

In researching a custom PCB Fab I came across NanoBox. For those not familiar, Nanobox is managed by Dave who contributes to Nano-Reef and Reef Central. He's a great guy and he's built some beautiful LED fixtures that are heads and shoulders above anything else on the market. His custom PCB is very close to my large 3W array, and I plan on basing my new fixture around 6 of his LED pucks:
http://nanoboxreef.com/shop.html

Each NanoBox Puck consists of:
2 - SEMILED Violet CH1
2 - REBEL ES Lime CH2
1 - Rebel Cyan CH3
1 - Rebel Blue CH3
4 - Luxeon T Royal Blue CH4
3 - Luxeon T Neutral White & Warm White CH2

These LED's are all top bin, and this 25W unit kicks.

Now... The coverage from these LEDs looks great...But that nagging voice just tells me that something could be missing. To address this concern I'll be running 2 24W T5's as well.

Bulb Frontrunners:
ATI B+ / True Actinic
ATI B+ / UVL Super Actinic
ATI Coral + / True Actinic
ATI Coral + / Super Actinic
ATI Coral + / ATI B+

Here's the rub. I keep a rimless tank and will be moving to a 24x36x12 shallow footprint. The best viewing for these rimless tanks is top down - and most fixtures simply don't allow for that. Right now I am running narrow optics on a LED panel which keeps it 3 feet above the tank ( I love this ). With this build I'd like to avoid lenses and will be using semi-specular reflectors instead (blending + focus)

T5 Reflector Design: