Filtration media question

Brad508

Non-member
First I'm still very new in the hobby so I'm just piecing together information as I go.

I've been reading alot about filter media on how it helps out with the tank, and I keep seeing bio balls and global rings(as I'm sure there are more) but as I look into what it made up of, it ceramic with pores for biological grow... my question is could broken down glass "rock" work in replacement of biowheels/fluval rings? The glass rock is basically crushed uo reused glass, heated up and used in aeration in hydroponics, and sinces in glass and has pores all over it didn't know if it would have the same effect as bio balls. Thanks in advance for any feed back!

Attachments

• IMG_20181209_103033.jpg
    IMG_20181209_103033.jpg
    91.7 KB · Views: 193
I think anything with a lot of surface area / pores will do the trick.
I am curious why you’re looking to go that route with bio balls or any of the like. What kind of sump/filter do you have?

Correct me if I’m wrong guys, I think those types of filtration media are less common now and a lot of people are just opting with extra live rock in a refugeum. Or there are porous blocks you can get to save space and have a neat look. These both serve the same purpose and also can host pods, lots of them, or other purposes too.

I used to have a trickle filter with bio balls in a couple different tanks and it worked great, no issues there.
One of my systems only uses live rock in the fuge, filter pad, and skimmer for filtration and no issues with that either.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I think anything with a lot of surface area / pores will do the trick.
I am curious why you’re looking to go that route with bio balls or any of the like. What kind of sump/filter do you have?