Giesemann Spectra questions

joe0813

BRS Member
had enough of ecosmart live... the program is garbage and im getting rid of my gen 2s. I was thinking of getting a giesemann spectra but i have no experience with MH. How much heat do halides usually add to a tank and how much could my electric bill go up?

I have the 48 inch specture with 20k radius and I love it , can’t really help compare the electricity cost because I’ve only had my setup since December but can tell you I have no interest in changing my light setup .... haven’t notice much at all as far as heat goes , but then again my tank is in my basement

How big is your tank?
A fan across the top can offset the heat pretty easily from the tank.

its a 6 foot 180 gallon. so was looking at the Giesemann spectra, Giesemann Aurora or a ATI Powermodule

stupid question... but is it one ballast per light or just one powers the three bulbs?

It will be a ballast per bulb and a ballast for the t5. I believe (but not sure) you will need to purchase the mh ballasts you want but it will have the t5 ballast built in.

The real advantage to the spectra is that's an all in one system and looks ok if one doesn't have an enclosed top.
the reflectors are inferior compaired to the lumenbrights or lumenmax stand alone.
The price point is quite high new. $1500 plus $450 for the ballasts. $1950

If one were to buy 3x lumenbright mini (would be fine) that's $330 plus $450 then you'll want to add t5 (there many routes to this) but the easiest would brs retro kits or the giesemann razer. The 4 ft kits are $155 or $220 and you are looking at times 2 to compare with spectra.
All new with brs retro kits = $1050ish or $1170ish for de
With giesemann razors= $1220ish or $1350ish for de