Goniopora issues

JeanR

BRS Member
Hello
I've been reefing now for about 4 yrs with reasonable success. I've really taken to goniopora and now have about 18 of them in my 120g mixed reef (along with all sorts of SPS and LPS). Over the last week I've noticed some on my gonis are not happy and I've lost 3 to RTN over the last five days. One day the goni looks fine, the next day it closes up, the third or fourth day it is completely dead. I've lost a large ORA red goni colony, a common purple goni colony and a third frag. My tank parameters look good (Alk, Ca, Mg) and all my other LPS/SPS look fine. I have no idea what's going on so thought I would ask you guys while I do a bunch of water changes and hope for the best.
Thanks!
Jean

How long have the Goni that are dying been in your system? A lot of wild caught Goni will not make it last 5-6 month... Where they within close proximity of each other where an infection may spread to another? Try dipping some of the ones that are dying on you in some disinfectant. Also, try feeding some amino acids if you don’t already.

Thanks, both! No brown jelly, the tissue just sloughs off after a day or two of being closed. I have tried iodine dips and hydrogen peroxide dips, neither are stopping the issue. I haven't tried melafix, any reason to think it would be better? These are not new gonis - the red and purple are well known established aquacultured lines, as is the third (it's actually one of the two I got from you about a year ago, Pablo, and had been doing great) with all grown by me from small frags for over a year.

I did introduce two wild gonis in the last few months. One is totally fine, the other is mostly closed but has been for a while and I suspect is not adapting well to aquarium life.