Joe's (Jdeb101) Reef Journal and Build Thread

jdeb101

Non-member
I've been wanting to start a personal journal/build thread for quite some time as it'd be nice to track progress which will hopefully be years of enjoyment. I've actually been in the hobby for 10+ years, and been pretty active on the forum but probably none of you know me since, just like in school growing up I kinda just sit in the background quietly and take everything in. :) I've also been following Paul B's thread and recently picked up his book (highly recommend!) which inspired me to do this even more. I'm a lazy writer so please be with me as I force myself to do this! I'm going to start with a bit of my history in the hobby, but if you're only interested in the build (currently an Elos Midi 36) then please subscribe and stay tuned! ;)

My history in reefkeeping...
Back in 2006 my girlfriend (now wife) decided she wanted to get a pet Maltese dog. I figured I would get a pet with her and decided on a fish tank, so we hit up our local Petco. I could be wrong, but I believe this was around the early start of when Petco started carrying saltwater fish. So basically I walked into Petco with plans on buying nothing more than maybe a 10 gallon fish tank and some easy freshwater fish, but ended up walking out of there with a 40 gallon tank, stand, canopy that barely fit in my 1998 Olds Alero backseat. I've kept freshwater fish in the past, but this was my first dip into salt and I had no idea how much more involved it can be, nevertheless that I was starting an addiction!