new to saltwater

grave123

Non-member
Hello I'm new to this website I have a 55 gallon fish tank that I'm going to try saltwater it's my first time trying saltwater fish tank. I have an ehemi Pro 4 + 600 canister filter also I have a digital aquatop digital aquarium heater 200w with a hydro wave pump. My tank is 48 long 12 1/2 wide by 20in deep. I have no Rock no sand no light is there any other piece that I should buy for an saltwater aquarium. Also what is a good recommendation for a light. I'm also on low-income budget so everything will take me couple of months to get. Thank you for your time and have a nice day.

Definitely scour the marketplace here for a light and skimmer. People are constantly breaking tanks down and upgrading. And it'll be said 100 times just like in every other "new to salt" thread, but take your time, read a lot, and don't buy anything on a whim. There are 1000's of ways to run a successful tank, whether fish only or a reef, and exponentially more opinions on how to do it! Take notes, make a plan, and always be ready to change it!

Welcome yo the site
Rock and sand will need to be your first purchase. That’s your primary filter. You can keep the canister filter to run carbon and/or gfo but not as a primary filter. Look at the market place for deals on rock and equipment

Welcome to the forums! If you use the canister for a primary filtration device you will need to change and rinse the media often and run carbon in it to help keep nitrates from going out of control. Algae eats nitrates so it is best to keep them down.

Are you planning on coral? If so easy to keep only? That will help you figure out what light you want/need.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Yes i want to do coral and fish