Please advice electrical issue!

showard

Non-member
Hey reefer friends! I thought this was ok but apparently not. I realized during peak time yesterday all of my lights (2 250watt radium's) and my 3 300 watt heaters were on yesterday and I woke up to smell this.

Very glad my home didn't burn down but I would like that you nicely tell me what to do correctly. I'm not an electrician and assumed because I was using an APC surge protector this wouldn't happen. The breaker didn't pop ether. Should I break up the two old school AC tunzes on their own outlet, then my reeflo hybrid on its own outlet, then my EB8, which has the MH/heaters, on its own outlet, and then both DC pumps and ATO on another?

Yes they were all on one outlet and I included the pictute of the other end of the cord. Again please be nice as clearly I did something stupid and I get that.

I just need the community to point me towards the safest solution to avoid this again. I do very much appreciate you all and try very hard in all I do. I hope to see some good constructive criticism coming my way.

Also I wanted to add three black box LED units and one more large DC pump for a backup skimmer so also keep that in mind.

My tank is a 220 display, 65 gallon sump/frag tank and a 40 gallon frag tank.

Equipment breakdown at a glance:
-2 250 watt MH radium's (running opposite of each other since they're on 2 different tanks)
-3 300 watt heaters (one in each box of water)
2 Tunze AC pumps 7240.27
-autoaqua ato/awc
-apex classic with eb8 for heater/light control

Want to add:
-2 black box LED's
-one more large DC pump

Attachments

• IMG_20190925_072408.jpg
    IMG_20190925_072408.jpg
    158.5 KB · Views: 290
  • IMG_20190925_072218.jpg
    IMG_20190925_072218.jpg
    131.2 KB · Views: 287
need a little more info.
1 where and how was the plug strip positioned
2 is this a 15 or 20 amp circuit coming from your panel
3 Is your system Protected by a GFCI ground fault protected outlet