Reef precautions?

TomD

Non-member
I read another thread about being prepared for power outages and realized, I am not!

I am new to reefing with a 3 month old tank and have not considered this yet.

What do people use for backup power/air and stuff like that? I am really interested.

Thanks

i just ahve a battery back-up i bought at comp usa for $30 to run a powerhead to keep flow going and once that runs out i use my dads car battery, which never fails :p i dont worry about temperature my house is never cold
Duds

a battery backup for $30? Would it be able to power heater and PH if I had 2?

It is hard to get a battery backup to run a heater because they take so much juice. It is better to have blankets or pieces of foam insulation or both to wrap the tank in and let the temp drop as little as possible. Lower temps rarely cause death and the critters can actually get a little more useful oxygen in colder water. Lack of O2 is the quick killer, so putting a battery powered air pump on or having a power-head high enough that it sucks a little bit of air during a power failure and putting that on the backup is a good idea.

Focus on the display, but keep in mind that things are happening to the water in the sump and fuge etc and that water will all come dumping into the display when the power comes back on. During a long outage I turn off the return pumps so I can heat and re-aerate the sump before mixing it with the display water again.

This was my short term backup for power loss before the home generator. Includes a XPower 400 Plus converter. New $205 for the booster and $40 for the inverter on Ebay $245. Includes the charger to keep it charged as well.

Will sell for $80 at the meeting if your interested

It will run a mag1200 for hours and hours. I had a 300W heater connected to mine. Never tested how long it would run on it since I dragged out the generator before it ever pooped out.

-------------------------

Solar ES6000 Booster Pac Jump Starter