Switching from 20 AIO to 20 plumbed

Collin

Non-member
hi guys I'm switching from my hang on back filter to a plumbed system. I'm new to this whole thing and could use some advice. What kind of pipe do I need? What kind of return pump should I get? What should I do for a sump? I would really appreciate any help I can get. Thanks! (Budget is something I need to keep to keep in mind in this one)

It's a 20 gallon long (switching to to a 20 gallon long rr) looking to put in a 10 gallon sump. I'll get more info about new tank. Any other stats you need?

Return you can get away with a lot of options, budget is where it gets difficult.
You’ll probably want a 5x turnover rate per hour( 5x water volume of complete system) most pumps can handle the 4 foot head pressure , just find one that crosses the turnover rate you need. Depending if it’s drilled or not , you’ll either need a overflow box or some flex pipe for the drain. Return can be any clear tubing from HD.

The pump might be the one thing I splurge on. (Don't want to have to be constantly replacing it) thing about the jecod DCS-2000 nano

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

This isn’t cheap, but this guys 12g long setup is inspirational for sure.
EBF901B0-1F86-4613-9C68-D2A2148315C1.jpeg

First step, a baby one but headed in the right direction

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    100.3 KB · Views: 439
Baby steps Collin [emoji3]

Here is a question for all the veterans out there... with a 10 gallon sump.... is it worth putting in baffles? If he had the drain going to a pile of live rock, then the return on the opposite side separated and was running a skimmer... will the micro-bubbles make it across a rock wall /skimmer and make its way back to the return?

Might be easier not sure if I would be as effective. Any sump experts/micro bubble experts want to weigh in?

It would be a lot easier if I didn't have to put in baffles [emoji23]