calcium reactor vs. 2-part dosing

Terry Martin

BRS Member
I've been running a reef tank for about five years now and just do 2-part dosing for calcium and alkalinity (currently about 280ml of brs 2-part a day). I have 5 gallon reservoirs so I only have to mix it up every three months or so. I buy the big 5 gallon containers so cost is not too bad. Is there any reason to switch to a calcium reactor? Is it better in any way for the health and growth of your corals?

Here’s one of the reasons I’m piecing together a carx. If the reactor fails it won’t dump anything into the tank since normally the failure is getting clogged

so if/when your doser fails on the on position you’ll dump all the alk you have in that reservoir in the tank. I know there’s some fail safes that you can incorporate. I just think the simpler the better.

So what's making you looking at CaRx if you're been doing just fine for 5 years with dosing?

Good question! I was just curious if the CaRx had any positive effect on coral health/growth/color, etc. as one always hopes to do a bit better!

In theory, calcium reactor keeps the level more stable as it is dosig every second instead of every hour. In reality, I don’t see the difference in growth as long as the level is maintained daily.
But having a 5 gallon alkalinity bucket for a dosing pump makes me nervous. I have not yet seen Coralbox dosing pump malfunction but I heard many cases of Jebao dosing pumps empty the whole containers into the tank.
Also, the calcium solution is reacting with carbon dioxide once it is opened, so it loose potency over time.

It depends...
If you have a 300G full of softies, you probably don’t need a reactor. If you have 150G packed with SPS, you might want a reactor.
The reactor media supposedly supply other trace elements since it’s basically dead coral skeletons. But these trace elements can be found in salt mix as well.