Edward's Aquariums

Edward

IG: @ed3aquatics
BRS Member
Hello everyone!

I'm starting this thread for all the saltwater aquariums being set up in my new house right now. For those of you who have known me since I was a teenager learning the saltwater aspect of this hobby in 2010, back when I was an overly ambitious college student, I thank you for all the knowledge and help you've provided me over the years. Especially those of you who told me to cool my jets with my ideas without having practical experience.

For those of you who have known me the last 4-5 years you'll know I've been accumulating equipment and planning the start of my dream reef tank once I moved into a house. Well…that time has come for a build thread with my first "baby" step towards my dream SPS garden and various other saltwater organism displays.

There will be a total of 4 separate systems with one, the frag system, coming several months to a year from now.

I'm currently building 2 systems for my home office:

-A two tank system with a 12"x12"x12" (~5 gallon) rimless cube and a 36"x18"x18" (57 gallon)

-A UNS 60S (23 3/8"x 14 1/4" x 7 1/4") shallow lagoon

And the crown jewel of my systems will be a Waterbox 105.4 (72.3 gallon display/ 103 gallon total volume) for my living room.

I have had a 44 gallon brute Rubbermaid nearly full of live rock for all of these tanks for 20 months cycling. It is pest free, loaded with pods and has been constantly monitored and maintained that entire time. The cycle has been dark so coraline algae will take time to grow in all the systems.

I’m using a 7 Stage RODI system with a booster pump currently, I’m going to be building my water storage brute’s into a proper mixing station very soon. The only reason I haven’t yet is because one of the three I’ll be using is holding all the live rock for all of the tanks.