Large skimmer or refugium

• Large skimmer

• Refugium

• Both

Results are only viewable after voting.

Joker

Viking Corals
BRS Member
This is definitely a question many of us has had come across our minds. I know both is best but what if you had to choose between the two, which would you choose? Right now I'm stuck with this dilemma. As you all know I have added a frag tank to my main system which now is totaling about 90-100gs. My old skimmer is not cutting it anymore. I have a larger skimmer rated for 200-250g (I know its huge its ment for my upgrade) but it will only fit in my sump if I remove the refuge section of the sump. My chaeto doesn't seem to be growing but not dying either. I have added fish to the frag tank as cleanup crew so that's where the added waste is coming from. Let me know what you guys think.

I’m still learning, but after seeing @dz6t’s setup, I’d say it’s okay to drop the fuge if you have a big skimmer, lots of rubble, and lots of frags to soak up the nitrates.

I haven't ran a refugium since 2006. Heavy in, heavy out for nutrients. I have a skimmer rated for 200 gallons heavily stocked, or 300 with a medium bio load. I have two tanks, a 100 and 80 that share a common 34 gallon sump. 2 clowns, 2 pajamas, 1 yellow tang, 1 magnificent foxface, 1 2 spot/ blue eyed, 1 niger trigger, 1 desjardini, 1 chocolate/mimic and 1 tomini. I don't feel that I'm even close to medium bio load yet and run the skimmer 24/7 on the highest output. I feed heavy and remove heavy, always worked for me.