Tunze in a 75Gal?

smcnally

Tankless
I've been running a 6060 in my 75 Gal for about 2 months now and I think I might get rid of it. I always have issues with it shifting sand around (not severely though). But what I think was my deciding factor was that I pulled it out for cleaning the other day and all my corals seem happier. They are opened up so much nicer. I know people say you can never have to much flow, but I think the flow I had was more like a river, than the ocean. Anyone else have one in a 75Gal or similar tank? I'm going to give it a few more days, and then possibly put it up for sale.

I have never had a Tunze in my 75 mostly because the input I get is they are to much for a 75, I don't know with the new controllers if they can be turned down to an acceptable level or not.

Jim

I have two 6061's in my 125 and I leave them running at 80%. I alternate them though with the controller... they are never running at the same time. I don't have any issues with them blowing stuff around.

Steve, have you tried adjusting it upward to see if that works?

Tam

My problem is that you can't turn a 6060 down. It is full bore, or off. I'm really starting to like the look of my tank without it. If I go with a bigger tank, I would definitely use a controllable model.

TBoisvert said:
I have two 6061's in my 125 and I leave them running at 80%. I alternate them though with the controller... they are never running at the same time. I don't have any issues with them blowing stuff around.

Steve, have you tried adjusting it upward to see if that works?

Tam
Upward helps, but my corals still look irritated. I have 4 much smaller power heads in there now and it I think if I put one more MJ1200 in there at a lower level then the others it will be perfect.

ltelus said:
If you decide to get rid of it,LMK
-Liam.
There was one person who actually PM'd me before you posted this. I will probably post this in the "Equipment For Sale Forum" in a couple days when I make up my mind.