Anyone every seen this or done this????

wdebenedettojr

BRS Member
So a buddy of mine recently purchased a laser online to kill aiptasia among other things.

http://www.advancedaquarist.com/blog/zap-aiptasia-dead-with-laser-beams

He has used it a few times to kill the few aiptasias he had but he also used it to keep some gsp in check. He said it worked flawlessly but there are some precautions to take before shining a laser through your tank. I was just wondering if anyone on here has used this and their experience before I borrow it and go on a gsp control rampage lol.

I have no personal experience but have viewed a few videos and it looks like the laser "cooks" the aptaisia. I would rather try the mojano wand first as it looks a little safer than some crazy laser. Please share your experience if you choose to give it a try.

If you decide to go this route, just be careful with the fish ... the lasers used in this method are supposed to be pretty high powered, and can easily damage your fish or critters ... But yes, I have read a bunch about this method and it does seem to work.

Pretty creative idea regarding using this to keep the GSP in check; I'd be careful of the toxins released though if you're "frying" GSP in the tank .. definitely run carbon while doing something that "creative" :D

There was discussion about a year back to purchase one for club members use. But upon further review it was found to not be worth the expenditure based upon the reviews at that time.

There was discussion about a year back to purchase one for club members use. But upon further review it was found to not be worth the expenditure based upon the reviews at that time.

Any thoughts now about the club getting one? Seems like reviews are improving.