New Setup / HlpTips would help out!!

tonyspo

Tonyspo
BRS Member
this is a 25 gal. hex tank with 2 nice powerheads, a nice heater a nice pump, with a hommade 'refusiom tank' made out of acrylic. It does its job thats for sure. With a nice protein skimmer...

Its been going solid for about 2-3 weeks, and I gave it the half time solution, to shorten starting process. Last 2 -3 water tests, ph, amonia, nitrite, nitrate, and they've all been right on. I started with some 'live' rock, and some dead.

In the refusiom, I have a filter system with 1 section polyester, 1 with carbon fiber that I started with. ....Ohh and I just bought the PURA Phosloc which ill put in this week.........How long do you think I should wait before I start adding some frags and fish to see how startup goes?

Any thoughts/suggestions/tips are greatly appreciated and am somewhat of a starter...

I'm no expert on this (setting up my first tank myself), but I suspect if you already had your ammonia spike.. and are now down to ~0 ammonia ~0 nitrites, and are seeing acceptable levels of nitrates and phosphates (keeping low with water changes), then you may be good.

Do you have a snail/hermit cleaning crew in place? If params seem stable, start out with a couple hardy cycler fish. A couple green chromis for example. Maybe a clown or two (?).

Others may chime in with better suggestions. Heck, I have yet to get my tank running. ;P

if it has been going for 3 weeks, I would wait another week then if the tests are still reading zero, you can try putting in a durable fish. I would throw in a clean up crew first. Then wait a week or two and if readings are still good, add a fish. Make sure that you have all your rock etc. in as adding anything new to the tank could cause a spike.

I would wait longer for corals. Some durable corals can be placed in newer tanks but many, such as alot of SPS, require older tanks. Sometimes a year or more.