Newbie here upgrading a 10 gallon to my 55 looking for a little direction.

iammitch3479

Non-member
So I have a 10 gallon right now and I am hoping to upgrade that since I landed a full time paid internship (I am a college student) and I have no idea what I am doing. Right now I don't have any filter or skimmer or anything but power heads and a HOB filter from freshwater (just for flow). I am hoping to turn the 10 gallon into a simple sump just with a sock, skimmer and return. A wonderful display tank at my lfs has this simple setup and it looks gorgeous so it is possible. I just don't know where to start supplies/items.

The following topics of discussion/suggestions would be greatly appreciated:

starting from the tank and working our way through the sump

1) how to plumb it (not drilling the tank)
2) size/model protein skimmer needed (cheap price under 150 hopefully)
3) if the 10 gallon is enough of a sump for this simple design
4) size/model of the return pump

Bonus Here's a picture of the setup i am modeling mine after

http://imgur.com/a/72Gc6

Double Bonus! My tank now

http://imgur.com/LOjDmEo

THANK YOU GUYS!

Well the tank I have isn't quiet like that but will allow you to do 2 tanks at the same time . Like LPS on one side and SPS on another . Tell Johnny we said hello .
I couldn't upload to this site so I put it on your FB

Well the tank I have isn't quiet like that but will allow you to do 2 tanks at the same time . Like LPS on one side and SPS on another . Tell Johnny we said hello .
I couldn't upload to this site so I put it on your FB

yeah that's as good idea, I mean I'm a little noobish to have sps at the moment but in the future its possible.