someone please explain RTN to me before I lose my mind (and coral).

dcforester1

Finally enjoying my tank
I have had this tank up for about 3 years, and I have had my ups and downs. For well over a year this tank has been stable, and really had no issues. I have had some some frags experience RTN, and have lost a colony before. For well over a year it has been issue free. I had a recent surgery, and have been hands off for the last three months. I have had my tank on a constant WC for over two years, and have been telling everyone how great my tank has been. I havnt tested my water in about two months and was afraid to test it last week. When I checked it I was surprised that everything was spot on. I noticed a couple days ago I was starting to get a little bit of green algae, but nothing serious. Well I was looking at my Rose Milli colony and noticed a couple branches lost a little tissue, no big deal. Well today I thought something didnt look right, and a huge purple and green tabling acro I have, a third of it is gone!!!! It was fine 2-3days ago, and now this. I re tested today, and everything is fine. I looked up on my apex, and my temp has been stable. I dont get it. I am wondering what to do with it? Do I just leave it, and let nature take its course, or trim it, and dip it some Melafix? I read once on RC that it is a bacterial thing and thats how you treat it. I just check my tank again, and another colony has some flesh coming off. My tank it 99% SPS, and I would hate to lose them. Any ideas from you guys that keep SPS?

TIA Derek

Do you happen do be carbon dosing? Could be alkalinity swings? Also how old are the test kits? I know once in a while ill see burnt tips from alkalinity swings, however most of the time it will grow back. Also If your nutrients are extremely low, corals could be starving but it doesn't sound like this because of the algae.