Sump bubble trap/baffle question

Trevor

Non-member
So I just finished up my sump and I'm wondering if I had screwed up somehow, I did my bubble trap section so the water runs under the first over the second and under the third baffle, I figured it would help keep any bubbles from even entering the trap if its pulling from the bottom of the sump, I'm not going to have any sand or anything in it so I don't see why it would cause any problems I'm just curious if there is any benefits of it running opposite, meaning over first under second and over third baffle, any input?

I'm pretty new to sump/refug but it was my understanding that the water is supposed to travel over the first under the second over the third. I had a thread going about building my sump in the DIY forum and thats where I got the info on the bubble trap

I'd like to hear other opinions on this, but I personally have an issue with "film" on my waters surface in any areas where there's not a lot of surface agitation. With that said, the only issue I can see is a possible layer of film on the surface in that section from pulling from the bottom. If there's a skimmer, and drain line in that compartment, there will likely be enough agitation to have this be a non issue.

thanks for the info fellas, well i wanted to try out my theory and put an airstone in the second chamber and got very very minimal bubbles going under the trap, i think it will work well, and pat im going to have everything from the frag tank/ats/media reactor/and skimmer draining into this chamber so i think the surface agiatation will be ok, also i dont think i will need any of those drains going into a filter sock in the first chamber as i dont suspect there to be any debreis/ particals coming from any of those, maybe the media reactor ill run into the filter sock just to be safe

I tried an airstone once and it created alot of saltcreep. I use a small powerhead just pointing up and it keeps the water agitated.