this is an odd question

orionduck

Non-member
This is an odd question,. how come I see a 55 gallon salt water tank and the sump tank is about 33 gallon? Is having a bigger sump tank good? I supposed my current 120 gallon vs 20 gallon sump is too low?

Thank you and I am new to salt water

Attachments

• 2.JPG
    2.JPG
    33.2 KB · Views: 338
  • 10.JPG
    10.JPG
    40.3 KB · Views: 337
  • 13.JPG
    13.JPG
    37 KB · Views: 367
It's always a good benefit to any tank to have a large sump and or refugium you can fit to export and filter as much of the nutrients to stabilize your tank.

Read what there is to know here and read anything else from Reekeeping to answer a lot of questions. http://reefkeeping.com/issues/2008-01/newbie/index.php
Sumps have many advantages:

* Increased total water volume - This dilutes the pollutants that accumulate in your tank’s water, and helps to slow issues that arise quickly in sumpless tanks.
* Skims the surface - No more surface scum, just crystal clear water.
* Lowers temperature - I've observed a 2°F drop in temperature after installing a sump.
* Hides equipment - Heaters, protein skimmers, monitoring probes, grounding probes and more can be moved to the sump and out of the display tank.
* Consistent water level - The display tank will maintain the same water level all the time; evaporation occurs in the sump over time.
* Safe place to pour in additives - Adding chemicals or reverse osmosis de-ionized (RO/DI) water in the sump allows it to mix before entering the display tank.
* Increased circulation - The return water from the sump is yet another way to move water in your tank. You can point the return outlet(s) in different directions to create some flow, reducing the need for some of the powerheads needed in your display tank.
* Increased oxygenation - As water drains into the sump, air mixes with it, allowing for beneficial gas exchange -- releasing CO2 and adding fresh O2.