Newbie Looking For BioCube Advice

viking

Non-member
Hi All!

I'm new to the hobby and have been doing A LOT of research for the past few months. After all of the reading I figured it would be a good time to get some feedback from the experts and join a community.

I wanted to start small so I'm considering the BioCube HQL 29. I would like to use live rock and live sand and eventually add corals with a small clean up crew. My main concern is what kind of fish I will be able to keep in this environment. Ideally I'd like to have the following:

2 clowns
1 flame angel
1 Midas Blenny

Will this overcrowd the tank? Any advice you can provide on tank selection and my initial thoughts regarding inhabitants would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Howdy!

Welcome fellow hobbyist! May your future be safe and your wallet... not so much :p. The fish choices you mention should do quite well in a 29g. Although I'm providing my opinion, please keep in mind every fish has a unique personality and may act against the common behaviors of its species, and every human will also have a separate opinion.

Clowns - excellent choice as they require relatively light swimming area as long as they have a proper host for security. They are extremely active but routinely remain near their chosen host/home. The species of clown will also determine the safety of your other tank mates as some species are extremely aggressive.

Flame Angel - the smaller ones are typically peaceful but, much like their larger kin, they can become more assertive as they grow and a few have been known to nip at LPS coral polyps (rare but a slight concern).