40g Breeder Frag Build

Kens Bees

BRS Member
This is my first time building from scratch so I wanted to share. I really wanted a frag tank to grow some corals and start playing with those getting too big in my display. It was also a good excuse to get a project going. DIY is a blast and this is going to be about as DIY as you can get. I picked the 40 because it's 36" long and I had a pair of Current LED fixtures from my first tank.

So, I got a Petco 40g breeder and drilled it myself. I have a drill press and felt a lot better about using that than trying to hold a drill in place by hand. Drilling was pretty painless, loud, but painless. A new modular marine overflow and a return went on in a little less than an afternoon.

Attachments

• IMG_4869[1].JPG
    IMG_4869[1].JPG
    156.8 KB · Views: 144
  • IMG_4878[1].JPG
    IMG_4878[1].JPG
    269 KB · Views: 147
  • IMG_4877[1].JPG
    IMG_4877[1].JPG
    206.9 KB · Views: 142
  • IMG_4873[1].JPG
    IMG_4873[1].JPG
    184.5 KB · Views: 151
Last edited:
Finished the lights this morning. The frame is 1" aluminum and will be hung. I had the Current LED's and got an ebay 4 bulb T5 fixture. I finished it off with some dark blue plexi as a canopy that just lets some light through. The led's are programmable so I plan to use them for sunrise/sunset and have the T5's come on for a few hours mid-day. Really noit sure what t5's to use in this but have plenty of time to figure it out. I was really happy with the way this turned out.

Attachments

• IMG_4902[1].JPG
    IMG_4902[1].JPG
    113.6 KB · Views: 140
  • IMG_4903[1].JPG
    IMG_4903[1].JPG
    301.7 KB · Views: 147
  • IMG_4904[1].JPG
    IMG_4904[1].JPG
    74.3 KB · Views: 140
  • IMG_4905[1].JPG
    IMG_4905[1].JPG
    109.1 KB · Views: 130
  • IMG_4906[1].JPG
    IMG_4906[1].JPG
    107.2 KB · Views: 139