55gal Fish only advice

dedfish

That's Mr.Murphy to you!
I have a friend that wants to convert a 55g fresh water tank to a saltwater fish only tank. He is leaning towards purchasing a wet/dry filter and is looking to me to give him some advice. While I've had some good experience with reef tanks I know very little about fish only setups. Can someone offer some advice on these setups or point me to a place I can do some extra research for him?

Thanks,
Jason

you still want to keep nitrates and phospahtes down in s FO tank, to prevent algae/cyano outbreaks.....

you still want to keep nitrates and phospahtes down in s FO tank, to prevent algae/cyano outbreaks.....

I was thinking the same thing.

Have your friend throw some live rock in there too. Looks good, and has copepods & amphipods the fish will like. Sand + live rock = filtration. Get a protein skimmer to take out gunk.

Then add fish. Presto! FOWLR.

Thanks. He's asking me all sorts of questions about wet/dry filters and I know nothing. I've never kept a FO. If I were going to keep a fish tank it would be a FOWLR. Anyone know what the significance of gph in a wet/dry? Is there a point that you have a wet/dry that is too big for a system?

The big thing in a wet dry is the bioballs convert the ammonia from the higher feeding level to nitrates. Bad news in a reef tank, but fish are more tolerant of nitrates, so fish only tanks generally can have hioigher nitrate levels. IMO, wet/dry filters are old school salt water technology. Like Moe said, LR, LS and maybe a remote DSB to keep nitrates in check. Add a skimmer, do water changes, call it a tank......