Adding new fish to bc29. Are all reef fish jerks?

Pitboss3

Non-member
HI, Im new to saltwater aquariums and the hardest thing so far is adding new fish! I started with a 6line then added a Banggai Cardinal, they got along just fine. Then I figured I would try a bicolor pseudochromis sense both it and the 6line are "semi-aggressive" I thought they would be fine together. Nope, the Pseudochromis was a jerk and was attacking the six line so I took him (pseudochromis) back to the lfs. Then I decided to get the fancy Clowns I wanted, and the 6line was attacking them! I like the clowns and they were much more expensive than the 6line so it went back. The cardinal got along with the clowns and is a very chill fish. I added a watchman and all three are getting along. just added a red firefish and the clowns are chasing it around and now SO IS THE ONCE PEACEFUL CARDINAL! Before I added any fish I researched them and it seemed like they are all capable of living together, I even found a list (I think on reef central) that says they are all compatible!? Why can't I add anything without conflict? Should I just let them be and they will all learn to get along, or will it continue until someone dies? I really didn't think this would be the hardest part of starting a reef tank! All fish were added 1 at a time with 1 week in-between. I figure the small tank doesn't help but its what I have, is there a way to add fish to avoid conflict? I don't have other tanks to house fish in temporarily.
Sorry for the book just not sure what I should do. Thanks

The sixline wrasses are known to be aggressive towards new additions, especially in the smaller tanks. Unfortunately, where in FW often semi-aggressive can live with other semi-aggressive, in SW many fish will not coexist (without the right system and careful planning) and will either bully or attack to the point of death.