Advice after buying a complete tank

deynon09

Mid-life Reefer
I'm buying a full 30 gal long setup from user amk, and I need some advice on setting it up. I'm a total newbie, but can carry my own at following instructions. Anything that is typical in setting up, mixing water, chemical balance would be much appreciated, ie; first step, second step etc...
What test kit to get for the money...

I started with a small set up so it won't cost me gobs of money to keep it going, but big enough so I could enjoy it.

Last edited:
You'll get some great information here.
But there's nothing like a good book to start out with.
Especially on a rainy day or night like this evening.
I would highly recommend Bob Fenner's "THe Conscientious Marine Aquarist" to start with.
This will give you all the basics of starting a S.W. tank.Also gives you info on different species of fish and inverts.

I'll just add,that you'll need to take your time and resist the urge to get something going right away.Even small tanks can cost a lot of money,especially if you have a crash.

Try and save as much water from the current set up as you can. I have done a few moves and if you put everything in buckets it is usually fine. I helps to separate stuff too ie rocks in one, corals another, sand alone (you might be able to keep the sand in the tank with a little water since it is a 30l if you have someone to help you carry it, this would be best).

When pouring the water into the tank I use a plastic bag. Place the bag over the sand a zip lock bag or small trash bag doesn't matter, pour right onto the bag. It will disperse the water to minimize the sand kicking up as you refill the tank.

API Reef starter test kits works fine and is not very expensive when you first get going.
It has all the basics for testing through a "cycle".This will be one of the first hurdles on your way to a successful Marine tank.The whole ammonia>nitrite>nitrate deal.