Complete NOOBIE here! Hello!

Nicole79

Zoa addict
Hi Everyone,

My Name is Nicole and Im not only new to the site, Im new to saltwater too.
I have had freshwater tanks since I could walk and have enjoyed them for many many years..

I have always been in awe of the beauty of saltwater tanks/fish so I finally decided to let go of my fear and just go for it. (what was I thinking?)

I live in Haverhill MA, work full time and Am a single Mother to 4 great kids.. I have a 55 gallon freshwater tank in my bedroom with some very large Angelfish, and some corycats.. In the livingroom I have two 20L on a double stand.. Up until last week the one on top housed a mix of fancy guppies, dwarf frogs and dwarf shrimp. the bottom housed a single african clawed frog who was sold to me as a dwarf.. grew humongous and ate everything in his path!

I decided to bring him to a local pet store, where the fishroom guy and I started talking about saltwater and I let him convince me how "easy" its is to have a saltwater... HAHAHA.... yeah

I converted my bottom 20gallon Long to a saltwater tank about a week ago.. I bought 20 pounds of live reef sand.. and about 20 pounds of lacerock (not live)
two of the cheapest powerheads I could find, a box of instant ocean salt, and a hydrometer and was on my way... broke but hopeful

I already had the submersible tank heater, the compact flourescant light with a tropic sun 5500k daylight bulb and two hang on back filters i had laying around.. I know I need better things, I know that I will need a skimmer...i was just happy to get it up and running... now I have about a billion questions and obviously being a single mom, a lack of funds.. it will have to come together slowly and I will pick up what i need here and there as I go..

i am looking for ANY advice, feedback, suggestions. This is a COMPLETELY different animal than freshwater! ugh Im overwhelmed