copeopods

jebar777

Scott Stalter
BRS Member
anyone have a link for breeding or growing copeopods.....

and is it possible to get a mandarin to eat frozen.

how?

thanks steve. i should have thought to go to advanced aquarist mag....lol good tips though.

Hopefully you'll have enough pod population to sustain the mandarin. Some mandarins take to the mysis readily, and some won't look at it. I used to shut the pumps down and pour melted mysis into the area of the mandarin.

I highly recomend not buying a mandarin until you see it eat frozen. I have seen a lot of them skinny and just hanging on in beautiful large tanks that you think they would be fine in. The difference with a healthy fat one is dramatic.
Here is my longwinded spheel from another thread and a link to some pictures of my pair
http://www.bostonreefers.org/forums/showthread.php?t=27660&highlight=mandarin
Thought I would chime in here. This is just my opinion, but I have a few years experience with having a healthy spawning pair of mandarins and I have taken a lot of time to look at the condition of other mandarins and scooter blenys and find out what they are eating and I have helped a few people bring theirs back to health and select and train new mandarins.

That being said, I know that a single mandarin can easily starve in a really nice, mature, 75 gallon tank with fuge even if it is the only "pod eater" fish.

In my opinion, you need to train them to eat the prepared food you normally feed your tank and you need to be sure to always feed enough that they can get plenty to eat. Live food might be enough to let them survive but it is unlikely to let them thrive. There is a big difference between a mandarin that is surviving and a mandarin which is thriving.