does drilling a tank mess with its durability

reefsane88

Non-member
i want to drill my tank ,but im worried that it will affect its over all condition ,
and on top of that it takes the warranty away .

it is gonna be my first reef tank ever (ive had sumps on my fowlr) but with overflow boxes never a drilled tank .i have carpet floors everywhere except the kitchen ,so im stuck between what if the sump overflows or if the tank brakes down the line from drilling it .

what should i do its a 40 breeder with a 40 breeder sump ,i know they are not tempered on the bottom if im not mistaken (correct me if i am its aga )also it will be taken to jays to be drilled and im gonna ask for help on the overflow box (if i do decide to drill it )

this is my first time actually setting up a reef tank (sps lps) dominated so i wanna doit right before i put the water in . ne ways thats why i joined brs ,so what should i do tia

i have the tanks already ,if not i would got the ones they drill then temper ,with the mega overflows

Doesnt cost that much to have it drilled, you can always see if someone nearby has the stuff to do it too.

When I do mine I will just be making a wooden jig and using my chordless drill. How much do places usually charge to drill? If it is cheaper than the bit itself I will just have someone else do it.

Yea, at least 2 holes. 3 or more if you want double overflows but that is overkil or a 40 lol. I think home depot has 1" and possibly 3/4" glass hole saws for less than $30 so I will probably just do that. Or does the $25 include the bulkheads?

Last edited:
im not to sure thats why i was asking ,and i wouldnt mind just one overflow but im lossed as to were to even put it

IIRC HD may have hole saws intended for tiles or other materials, but not ones intended for glass. Possible to use, yes, best to use, I'm not sure.