Dosing amino acids?

dz6t

Acro Garden, BRS Sponsor
BRS Sponsor
BRS Member
Who is doing that and how is the result? Thanks

I've been dosing them for a couple of months. My colors are brighter, but I also have been messing with some other stuff so I'm not sure of the impact of the amino acids.

Corals really can't uptake amino acids. They basically have to process them the same as any other food: IE they eat them, and use them as a nitrogen source.

i think there are many differing expert opinions on this subject.

As i interpreted it, Bourneman states it is not scentifically proven 100%.It seems it has been proved that some species can uptake them from the water column but as a whole he feels(not based on scientific data) it is not likely.
Did i interpret Bourneman correctly?

At a personal level i have not studied the dosing effect of aminos alone on my system but everything seems to be doing well and i have no algae or water quality issues so i shall continue.
I am dosing a very small amount(drops) on a daily basis.

"It seems it has been proved that some species can uptake them from the water column but as a whole he feels"

We know they can uptake them. The question is whether they uptake them in a way that saves energy over producing them. If theyre eating them/xooxanthelle are eating them, then they are being broken down into their base components, and lead to no real energy gain. If theyre being absorbed and used as a whole, then there is a gain.

Most of the studies at this point involve using aminos with radioactive markers, and then testing whether or not the coral shows a radioactive signature. The problem with this, is it doesnt tell whether the animal is using the amino acid, or using the nitrogen/carbon/oxygen/etc that is present in the amino acid.

>Corals really can't uptake amino acids. They basically have to process them the same as any other food: IE they eat them, and use them as a nitrogen source.<