Euro reef skimmer purchased at the auction....

The River Reef

Non-member
I purchased the Euro Reef skimmer at the auction for $75. I didn't keep track of who donated it, and was aware it was repaired. I am new to this hobby and never owned a skimmer. I tried a test run but couldn't get much of any bubbles or the water to rise in the column. It looks to me like the pump is no good. Can anyone help me out here? I would hate to get rid of what I thought was going to be my first skimmer adventure :( I just need to know if I can easily tell if the pump is no good or not. Also it looks to be missing some of the return section pipes, do not know if this matters? Any help or contact with the individual who donated - to ask a few questions would be a lifesaver, thanks :)

I'll forward this to Tab as I think she has the master list... But off the top of my head I'd try disassembling the pump and soaking it in vinegar. Then I'd put it back together and run it in the vinegar.

Sorry Dave, I have no information on the skimmer as it was donated the day of.

Is the pump running at all? Do you see bubbles inside the skimmer? Are the bubbles just not rising up to the collection cup? A picture may help out a bit here too, I think there were a few skimmers?

Are you testing in fresh water or saltwater? Freshwater will not produce a foam head properly.

The skimmer had all that it needed for the exit pipe I believe. I run a euroreef and was the one who identified what that skimmer was.

Those skimmers come with just a single verticle pipe that the water exits from. This pipe is used to control the water level in the skimmer. It should actually be a pipe inside of a pipe so you can slide it up or down to adjust the height. Can you move this pipe at all?