Help! Did I place my LPS too high?

chadfish

BRS Member
I am new to coral. I thought the my new Trumpet would be cool center-tank so I superglued him to a big piece of shelf rock.

Now I think he’s too high up. He is about 7”-8” underwater in a 40g breeder.

How do I un-superglue him? I want to put him nearer to the bottom on a rock where he will be happier

I have pretty powerful lights that sit right on top of the tank, 2” above the water. Hanging from ceiling is not really an option.
lighting:
Orbit Pro 36 inch LED- used to ramp up and down
BeamsWork Quad LED 36 inch with 40x3watt whites and 12x3W antinic.
image.jpg

I am new to coral. I thought the my new Trumpet would be cool center-tank so I superglued him to a big piece of shelf rock.

Now I think he’s too high up. He is about 7”-8” underwater in a 40g breeder.

How do I un-superglue him? I want to put him nearer to the bottom on a rock where he will be happier

I have pretty powerful lights that sit right on top of the tank, 2” above the water. Hanging from ceiling is not really an option.
lighting:
Orbit Pro 36 inch LED- used to ramp up and down
BeamsWork Quad LED 36 inch with 40x3watt whites and 12x3W antinic.
View attachment 156330
Grab it at the base and rock it back and forth, should come right off.

LPS are unhappy if being blasted by too much flow too. Any chance it is that? Have the polyps expanded less? If so, and your flow is high there- then that may be the culprit or water quality too... what type of system was that trumpet in before you got it? High or low nutrients?

LPS are unhappy if being blasted by too much flow too. Any chance it is that? Have the polyps expanded less? If so, and your flow is high there- then that may be the culprit or water quality too... what type of system was that trumpet in before you got it? High or low nutrients?