Iodine additive and how important

darrowj

Non-member
I am fairly new at the hobby. During the last meeting I borrowed the book Getting Into Mini-Reefs by Jim Fatherree. I just finished reading it and saw in a number of places that he recommends Iodine supplements for soft corals.

Within the last few months I got some Xenia, Green Star and Mushroom soft corals. They all seem to be doing great. However, I want to be a good host/owner of these sea creatures and give them what they need to be heathy.

Ever since the day a couple years ago when I added some Ich Medicine, according to directions, that killed all my fish (another story for another time) I'm gun shame about adding anything to my tank except salt, water and the occasional PH buffer. How important is it to add Iodine?

Your instincts are good. Add as few things to your tank as possible. I'd trust regular water changes to keep up with any iodine demands.

If you're curious, get an iodine test kit, and see if you need to raise the level to meet what Fatheree recommends. Then add to get there. But don't add anything blindly without testing for it's level in the water.

I have to say (learned through experience) that if your going to keep gorgonians, you must supplement iodine or do water changes sufficient to keep iodine at NSW levels. Also, there are a few threads recently on RC about keeping non photosynthetic softies and iodine is required for their husbandry as well. I think a good rule of thumb is that if it's found in natural seawater, it should be found in your tank. You should not supplement anything though without testing for it.