nutha newb - dudley, ma - tank breakdown

dakar652

dakar652
well...i've been trolling the forums for a few weeks now and i've finally decided to introduce myself. new to the whole s/w thang...my tank has been up and running for 4 months without a hitch (knock on wood) although i've already made my share of mistakes (the worst of which being the purchase of a sand sifting starfish for a 20gallon high tank...ugh...total newb mistake). Also i started off by thinking a DSB would be the best form of filtration possible...not so in a nano i've come to understand. right now i'm still at the point of having a FOWLRWI (with inverts)....and i'm attempting to start the reef thing, but my budget is really lame right now due to being out of work from a wrist injury.

i have plenty of time to spend doing research online and in books, so i'm trying to make as few mistakes as possible here, but i think they're inevitable in this hobby as all too often i get the impulse to BUY BUY BUY when i should really just wait and let my system mature (and the contents of my wallet...LoL).

being 26years young and impatient as a MF'r doesn't help either, but i guess if i want to stay successful in this hobby and avoid eviction from my apartment, i'll have to learn patience...and how to research PRIOR to making livestock/other tank related decisions. i never had this problem with my african tank, as impulse is forgiven when adding new fish...or overstocking...due to the hardiness of the species i've chosen to keep.