Raising Temperature to Battle Dinoflagellates

MeezusReef

BRS Member
I have been battling Dino's for over two months in my 100g reef tank that I've had set up for over 5 years now. The tank has never experienced Dino's before (not a noticeable amount). I believe the cause of the algae was that I only had about 5 fish in my 100g for a long period of time and the nutrients bottomed out (0 No3/0PO4).

I've done numerous treatments to get rid of the algae, but it's came back each time. I raised the nutrients, did 10 doses of Dino-X, and did a 3 day blackout. After the 3 day blackout, things started to look great. Nutrients were high (too high), but the tank had no signs of dino....until it returned about a week later.

I tried a method I learned about from Reefbuilders and Reef2Reef about increasing your tank temperature to get rid of Dino's. My tank temperature is usually 78-79 degree's and I increased the temperature up to 82 as recommended. After four days, I can already see a difference. The amount of dino's is much less than before I raised the temperature.

Has anyone tried this method, and if so, did the dino's come back after lowering the temperature back down to normal range? It is too early for me to say if this has worked, but I can see improvements.

I will also mention that during the past two months, I've minimized my photo period to 6 hours a day and took down my Carbon/GFO reactor.

Just something to consider if you don’t already use it.

I tried the temperature and nutrients with slight gains, but it wasn’t until adding on a uv sterilizer that I noticed the biggest gain of them all.

Not only did it take care of the Dino’s, but it improved water clarity and reduced any algae growth.

Just another tid bit too, noticed you said you took carbon out aswell as gfo. It is recommended to run carbon through the course of battling Dino’s as they release toxins as they die off. Not entirely sure, but just sharing information I learned through my battles.