sick fish- frustrated

Marie

Non-member
I am new to this hobby. I've only had my tank a few weeks... it came w/ live sand and rock, so it mini-cycled... (all params look good)

I have a blenny and 3 chromis that I have had for 2 weeks.
They are from a store in Auburn MA, they seem to be doing fine....

I got a pr of occy clowns from a different LFS on monday... by yesterday afternoon one was sick- it looking like it's scales were sloughing off...
I took my live rock that was curing in my 29g, threw it all in a big bucket, emptied all the water out of the tank into the bucket w/ the LR, re-filled it with fresh salt water, turned my empty 29 into a QT tank (which I prob should have done in the first place)...
It was dead by this morning, and now the other one is showing signs of the same illness (already in QT).
I'm guessing it is Brooklynella?

I am afraid that my Chromis will get it next... will it kill everything in my tank??? Ahhhh!!!

Last edited:
you needed to use the water from your disply tank ..you threw them in to cycle your 29 ..cus ther is no bio filtration you need either a spobge from the display and lots of amquel or prime for amonia

The filter on the 29 has been going for weeks, it is seeded, I am sure... but it was curing LR, so I am sure the water in it was high in ammonia, etc, so emptied it, and refilled w/ fresh salt water.
I am not using the fish to cycle the 29. I will do frequent water changes. The fish was already sick, and I needed somewhere to QT it. It died because it was already sick.
Lesson learned. ALWAYS QT.
But now hoping that it didn't spread to my other fish in the 1 day the two clowns were in my DT.

2 weeks old tank with fishes = wrong
6 fishes in 2 weeks in 29G tank = wrong
curing life rock in new tank = so wrong

If you dont take liveatocks out, im afraid all will suffer the same faith.