To Foam or Not to Foam

Pinkskunk

Non-member
Hi folks, i am not sure where this thread belongs so i just post here. ifi am in the wrong place please feel free to move it.

i am in the process of downgrading froma 180 Acrylic :mad: (Acrylic stinks and i hate it so badly - but this is another story :) )

i am now going to have a 120 AGA. i want to know if i should use foan or not use foan underneath the tank.

i count on your opinion folks so the more opinion the better :D

- The next question is: if to use foan, do i sit the tank (the blackrim) on the foan, or do i let the foan inside the rim so that the glass sits/touch the foam?

thanks

Foam is for tanks that don't have trim around the bottom.

Tanks with trim can sit directly on the stand, tanks without trim need to foam so that there won't be any pressure points on the glass which contacts the stand.

You'll get a lot of conflicting opinions on this. I'm a pro-foam guy myself. I think helps to evenly distribute the weight if there are any voids on the surface the tank is sitting on.

AGA style tanks are designed so the weight of the tank is supported by the rim, not the bottom glass. If you're going to use foam, use it in a manner that the bottom glass isn't supporting the weight of the tank.

I'm pro foam as well..

I don't think the frame could ever be perfectly even soo that's why I like foam.

I also thought that custom tanks aren't supposed to have foam? Not sure, just thought i read that on reef central.

hi

so i think i will foam then since i already have it from the previous tank........

to make it clear, i let the blackrim "sits" on the foam correct? do i cut it so that there is a 1/2" extra faom sticking out all around? or just cut it to the paremeter of the blacktrim? sorry for the stupid question but i'd like to be sure for everything i do ;)