What size pump

mx3master1

Non-member
Dont know where to start but i have a 150 gallon DT with a 30 gallon sump in the stand on the first floor. i just spliced into my water supply downstairs and set up my RODI system. i have a 44 gallon brute bucket thats about a foot off the ground.

looking for suggestions on what size pump to use for an ATO, overall i figure it will need to be pumped 15 feet from bucket to top off my sump upstairs. and i would like to use the standard 1/4 line, only because i gotta drill a hole in the floor

not looking to spend three bills on a pump that will only pump a quart a day,
thanks for help...

Are you looking to flip a switch and add a gallon a day kinda thing. Or do you want the pump to kick on several times a day off of a float switch etc?

Looking to have float switch, just ordered a reefkeeper net. And I bought the two outlet remote pc to feed trough floor

I've never done this before. But this is a pretty interesting subject. Maybe try this RODI booster pump or one like it:

http://www.bulkreefsupply.com/products/reverse-osmosis-filters-and-systems/ro-di-accessories/aquatec-8800-booster-pump-kit.html

It doesn't have any details on how much head pressure it can handle etc. I hate to assume, so you might want to call BRS or the like on this one, but i would assume that a 1/4" check valve a few feet off of the output of the booster pump, along with the booster pump's power supply being hooked into your float switch. I would imagine that any booster pump could do the trick considering they can put 60+ psi into an rodi unit.

Mint... Didn't know they made rodi booster pumps only because I always have had town water . But makes sense I'll call tomorrow and see what they say.
Thanks for your help

IMO those pumps aren't good choices for what you want to do,for many reasons. High power consumption,higher maintenance,may back siphon,not really made for constant on/off cycling...etc.