Your Imput needed!!

melana

Non-member
Hi Everyone,
Since I am new to all this and I only have a 38 Gal tank with stand, Fresh water basic eguipment. I want to convert this into a reef tank. I was wondering where I could buy used inexpensive equipment to start a reef tank with?? Has anyone had any luck with EBAY? What equipment do I need to start up a reef tank?
Just looking for opinions and insight.

Thanks for your help!!

Melana - the newbie

How much are you looking to spend on the setup, and more inportantly what kind of a "reef" tank do you want to have. Many different species require different needs, so require real expensive lighting while others do not, I would do some research on what type of corals you plan on keeping so you know what type of conditions you need to provide them with :)

The equipment for sale forum right here at the BRS always has some good stuff for sale. Also, try some of our sponsors.

If you're looking for something in particular, you can post a message with a WTB (want to buy) tag in case someone ahs something extra they didn't think they could get rid of or forgot about. :)

Good luck!

Melody~

Other than the lighting, is the other equimpment the same? Like skimmer, heater, etc?

Basic reef equiment.
Light-power compact, VHO, T5, or metal Halide
Powerheads
Protein Skimmer
RODI uinit
Test kit- PH(a meter is prefered), nitrite, nitrate, calcium, alkinity, amonia, ect.
And some supplement- all you really need is calcium and alkinlity.
Thats the most basic set up I can think of.

Thank you Melody,
I guess even though I have been doing alot of reading here through all these threads I feel like I should be buying all kinds of equipments.. just wondering what I really need to start out with? Its kind of like I want to run with this but I really should be crawling!!! Taking baby steps.

melana said:
Other than the lighting, is the other equimpment the same? Like skimmer, heater, etc?