Hello all! First time reefer looking for first corals advice

LaneBrain

BRS Member
Hello everyone!
I am a new reefer and this forum has already been such a help! I took care of cichlids for a while, then made the switch to a 29g saltwater FOWLR tank because “I don’t think I’ll ever want coral”. HA
So now, I am in the process of starting a 75g reef tank. I built the stand, got all the plumbing (big shout out to Andres at Love The Reef for helping with that!) and all that is left to do is dry fit, and glue the plumbing, fill it up with water!
I want to build up some confidence with some zoas and LPS before I move to harder corals.
So my question to you is what coral would you recommend as my first? I’m also greatful for other advice you may offer.

thanks in advance!

E316FDDD-7344-4224-BA18-A36C4D38BF9B.jpeg

Attachments

• 066A8351-FBEA-4F96-84B0-78F926C2EE55.jpeg
    066A8351-FBEA-4F96-84B0-78F926C2EE55.jpeg
    126.1 KB · Views: 152
Hey, I'm still a newbie too, my tank is not 1yr old yet. I've learned a couple things:

1) Not all the plumbing needs to be glued, believe it or not. I know it sounds crazy, but it's not under any pressure, so a good dry fit should suffice and it's easier to disassemble / change.

2) Overall, coral hasn't been too much of a challenge keeping alive. I have a mixed reef. The hardest part is managing all the different flow & light requirements.

3) in terms of chemistry, my dosing pump helps, but at first, water changes should be enough to keep the Ca and alk stable

4) Some people plan a concept for their reef, as a 1st timer, I've been too interested in everything to limit myself. But I've hear softie tanks are super easy, fun, and beautiful - and they grow much faster too.

My first corals were: Kenya tree, zoas, and Trumpets (which I promptly over-lighted and bleached)
I find LPS - especially euphyllia - to be the toughest - again, just where to put them in the tank in terms of flow & lighting (Keeping them alive is easy)