Aquarium plants co2 regulator

s_kelley

BRS Member
The regulator I currently have is acting weird, won't keep a steady output level for some reason. Thinking of upgrading to one of the aquarium plants auto co2 regulators. Everything I read about them is positive. Anyone have any first hand experience with them or think there's a better option out there?

I have it but I personally don't think it make a big difference. But that just me. I have an aqaumedic regulator which is very good.
The pressure inside the reactor also make an impact of steady output.

I had a Milwaukee, died in 6 months.
Upgraded to the AQ Plants and haven't touched it in 2yrs!!
Like everything else in this hobby, you get what you pay for (mostly).

I was having issues with my reactor as well even with the AP regulator . so I got a Masterflex pump to feed the reactor and put it back on a controller Reefkeeper , has made all the difference in the world. I can now find and hold a set parameter making things much more stable .I don't know why I waited so long to do this . guess I thought , ehhh just another piece of equipment to run and maintain .

Agreed on masterflex. I run two of them for my two systems. Without them I could not get effluent consistent. Now if I'm off from my parameters measure, press a button on masterflex and change the effluent rate. Coupled with a controller to set range of reactor ph and your good to go.

But.... This does not mean that a cheap regulator will suffice. Even with the peristaltic and controller you need a good regulator to keep bubble count in check; the mflex and controller can make up for a less than perfect regulator though. Ideally the solenoid is not popping on/off dictated by the controller and your range of pH setting in the reactor. It is preferable to have the solenoid always on- hence the need for the good regulator despite the safety of the masterflex and controller