Attention Electronics Geeks!

smcnally

Tankless
I have an electro-geek related question. But yet...reef related. What I'm wondering is this...I have I/O ports that can supply voltage and measure voltage changes or resistance. I'm looking for either instructions on how to make (Or an inexpensive) conductivity probe to measure tank salinity. I just need something that will vary resistance that I can then convert in the procesor. So far I have a temp probe, but would like to eventually monitor salitnity and PH. Any ideas out there?

Probes like that will operate only with the signal conditioning unit it is intended to mate with. My background is in instrumentation design, as far as designing your own conductivity probe to operate directly with your I/O ports, no way.

Jim

Jim, I'm not doubting you, but why wouldn't it work? I'm using a Crestron control system which can do just about anything with analog signals. All I would really need to know is it's minimum and maximum values, and then translate them by testing with known values. Then when it comes time to calibrate just repeat the same procedure. Crestron systems are pretty accurate so I would think it could be done (if done correctly), but I could be wrong. Is it just the conductivity probe your talking about? Or all different types of probes?

Is the issue that the probe needs to be connected to "something"? From that "something", if it has the correct outputs, then you can get your signal? I also would like to know about this...

I always thought that you basically measured conductivity measuring the resistance that the water has. The more salt, the less resistance right? I thought I could mix some buckets of water all to different known levels of salinity, measure the resistance I got on the probe from each bucket, then translate that in my program. I wouldn't need anything super accurate like from fresh water to natural sea water. I would only want it to read somewhere in the range our tanks should be at.