Boston Reefers Evolving Arduino Build

jason401

Non-member
Ok guys/gals here's a list of parts and instructions on what we will be conducting during our May meeting

Goal - Control ATO and Temp with Arduino
Disclaimer - I am not an electrician so you're making this at your own risk.

Materials (prices do not include shipping, feel free to shop around for better deals)

1 x Arduino UNO or Arduino Nano $ 8.94
1 x 7-12v DC Wall Adapter $5.28
1 x Prototype Breadboard $8.86
1 x DS18B20 Transistor (these come waterproof) $9.95
1 x 4.7K Ohm Resistor $1.29
1 x 4 Channel relay $7.99
1 x 4 Gang Electrical Box $6.20
1 x 4 Gang Wall Plate $4.28
2 x 2 Plug Wall Outlet $4.08
2 x Waterproof Connector $2.99
1 x Misc Jumpers (male/male, male/female, female/female) $3.90
1 x Float Switch (feel free to get 2) $4.29
Roughly one foot of 16g wire (although 14g wouldnt hurt)
1 x Grounded Wall plUG (think old computer power plug)

Total ATO + Temp control w/out shipping $70

Directions and pics in the PDF file attached

Edit: Any Arduino will work

PAID MEMBERS

These items will be provided by the club if your a paid member in good standings

1 x DS18B20 transistor (These come waterproof) $9.95-Covered by the club
~1’ of 16 AWG wire ** (although 14 AWG wouldn’t hurt)-Covered by the club
1 x grounded wall plug ~3’ (think old computer power plug)
1 x 7**12v DC wall adapter $5.28

You can place your order through Boston Reef Society via PayPal or credit card, and receive free shipping on all components. Pm me the components you need, and we'll tally up your total and put it through with the club treasurer.

Attachments

• TemperatureControl (2).pdf
    214.6 KB · Views: 416
Last edited:
would be nice to get a display for it so one can see at least the temp and the time. there are some available for as little as 5$

We will get a display for the build....eventually :)

This is an ongoing evolving build, so many additions to come in the future