How much lighting do i need?

BigCrowd42

Non-member
I have a 125g tank 6 foot long. I am just getting into corals want to do mushrooms/softies and maybe a frogspawn etc.. Things that wave in the current. I am going to run VHO's I presently have an Icecap 430 ballast running 2 160w URI's 1 50/50, 1 atinic.the lights are mounted about 16" above the tank in the stand.Is this enough or should i add another 430 ballast and 1 50/50 & 1 atinic for a total 4 tubes 640W total ? looking for opinions
to see what I can grow w/2 tubes VS. 4 tubes

with the tubes that far over the tank, and such a long tank, I'd probably add a few more tubes. Also, with a second ballast, you could run actinics on a longer photoperiod than the white bulbs, for a fade-in/fade-out effect.

i think you either need to add some more vho's or add mh, t5...something...although what you listed as your wants dont require tons of lighting better safe then sorry...the frogspawn i believe in your list will be the most sensitive but that doesnt mean vho's arent enough...you can always move it up if you see its not doing as well. for the price though you can spend a few hundred and get some mh's and be able to keep most anything. :)

In my experience the stuff you list will do very well under VHO. If you want clams or SPS I'd suggest MH, but if you really expect to stay with soft wavy stuff, then VHO will save you money and heat problems.

why so high off the tank...there is a exact # but once the light gets the the water the intensity goes down quickly as you get deeper, so by having the lights that high off the tank you need more wattage to do the same as less watts but closer to the water...make sense?

4 vho's at about 6-10" above tank should be able to keep about anything...

what do you guys think? there may be some extreme lps and sps that require tons of light that I dont know about...

clamm said:
4 vho's at about 6-10" above tank should be able to keep about anything...