Ick

SteveDola

Good Tings
BRS Member
whats the best way to get rid of ick? I know to lower the sg and raise the temp but what treatments work well in people's opinion. Copper based ones?
Fortunately its not my tank but a family members FO tank that he made the wrong decision and bought from the dreaded PetCo. I am new to salt water Ick (dealt with fresh water along time ago) and remember some remedies but want to make sure for his tank's sake.

DO NOt put copper based meds in any salt water tank they tend to stay in and you will forever ( well not quite ) have problems You have seem my tank I every once in a great while will have a bout with ick but the only thing I do is add more garlic to the nori that I feed on top of the stuff in the fish goo I would suggest depending on the fish he has try to get a cleaner wrasse and some neon gobies to try to handle the situation naturally with out chemicals or pull the fish to a QT but that is also a double sword due to stress good luck

I was going to tell him to get a couple peppermints and maybe a cleaner goby. GARLIC? like a garlic paste/powder/clove?

I have used garlic caplets pricked and squeezed on Nori have used mnced garlic and fresh garlic in the fish goo never used powdered though

I unfortunately just dealt with this very thing so I can fill you in on what I have learned from others.

The best treatment for ich is to remove all your fish to a separate hospital tank with a filter, a heater, a light, and some places for the fish to hide. Ideally you could use an aquarium or your quarantine tank, in a pinch you can use some Rubbermaid containers and some PVC tubes and elbows to allow the fish someplace to hide.