Jobs in New England dealing with marine life

showard

Non-member
I am going to school in the fall and I am curious to know what jobs that there are in marine biology around here that are not at SeaWorld. Maybe even some that are dealing with reefs or temperate animals.

Boston aquarium is always looking for people with a degree in marine life

Be warned: it is extremely difficult to make a living in marine biology. You better have good grades, a strong work ethic, and shake a lot of the right hands if you want to make it. Basically unless you're completely obsessed, I wouldn't recommend it, and even then I still kind of don't. If you do a quick search on indeed.com, monster, or any other job posting site you will quickly realize that there are VERY few positions in this field. About 50% of the people I graduated with never made a dime in marine science.

I don't want to be mean or discouraging, but you should seriously think long and hard about the reality of spending $50,000 on a degree for which there is almost no decent employment. Unless you are willing and able to prove that you are the best, it's a bad idea.