Lighting Issues I need help...

swreef103

Non-member
so i got this light that's 2x250 hqi mh..Won brothers kinda cheezy but not bad looking and i had it for 2 days and 1 side stopped working.So i tryed everything to get the both of them to fire by checking the sockets and all the wiring inside but nothing's loose and the only conclusion i came to is that i had a bad ballast bcuz the fan let go the 1st day i had it.. I picked up 2 coralife hqi ballast from a fellow reefer last night and i hook it up and i still have the same issue except no the bulb that was firing isn't firing up completely..it just takes its time and doesn't ever reach its full spectrum...
Is anybody out there capable of telling me what the overall issue here is..it should work but then again i'm not an electrician so i could be wrong.maybe i just bought the wrong light that i can't fix but i need to know for sure if anybody can help me that would be awesome and there probably is a frag in it for the guidance toward what is really my problem..

check the bulbs and the ignitors that are inside of the fixture the ballasts are magnetic and pretty much bulletproof i would say it is probably an easy fix

Also if they are de bulbs double check they are in correctly... I had one which appeared in but wouldn't hit full spectrum.. Reset it in the fixture and it came right up.

yeah i've tried it all but i know there starters are pretty rusty and i think the new ballast might have them inside already..gonna take one apart and check it out now...

can anyone tell me if the coralife 250 hqi ballast is magnetic or electonic?i was told magnetic but i wana be sure...

If its older theres a pretty good chance its magnetic, another way to tell is the electronic doesnt get nearly as hot at the magnetic