newbie question re: lighting

mojoagogo

Non-member
Hi! I'm a newbie w/ a recently-cycled 55 gal tank w/ live rock/sand, a few small fish/anemones. Been trying to do as much online research as possible, but I always end up crashing my pc w/ a gazillion open windows... So I thought I'd cut to the chase & ask the experienced!

Is there any alternative to metal halide lighting for use w/ corals that need bright light? I can't suspend anything over the tank. Also, I'm not completely down wit all the lingo yet, so if you could dumb it down, I'd appreciate it!

other than Metal halide, you only have one solution: t-5

It all depends on what you want to keep.
I successfully kept some SPS corals, LPS corals, and sofites under 4 VHO bulbs. For the SPS corals, I only got frags from fellow BRS people, and I didn't take/buy anything that would require MH. I kept Acros, Montiporas, Hydnophoras, Pocillipora, etc...

But I wonder if you know that MH lights could be made to sit in a canopy that sits on top of your tank like any other type of lights. Suspending them from the ceiling (or wall) isn't a requirement.

I actually can't have a canopy of any significant height on the tank either. I found some info on T5 lights & they look promising, thanks.

Could anybody recommend a place to get good info on the specifics of how much light I might need (watts/lumens/temp/uv/etc)? I know it depends on what I'll have in the tank, but is there some sort of formula somewhere?

What size tank?

I'd put the max # of bulbs across the top that could fit, and push the max wattage out of them.

As for coloring, that's just personal preference.