Opinions before I purchse a light for my new setup

SteelerMike

Non-member
I have been collecting equipment to set up my 125g tank. I plan on starting as FOWLR for the first 3-4 months to get the tank stable and then introduce corals from there. My last purchase to make before I set the tank up is lights. I am trying to decide between LEDs and T5. That being said, I don't want to break the bank and so I am looking at the TaoTronics 120w LEDs from Ebay (I have read several threads on other forums of people having good luck with them) or a middle of the road T5 fixture. Looking for opinions on where you think I should go. Thanks in advance.

You’re in the same boat as some of us who are putting off and waiting for the jury to come to a verdict. I am still learning myself in regards to what is good and what is bad.

From what I can tell you have to take the depth of your tank into consideration. The penetration power of the lights is important as well. From what I have gathered so far the only real colors you need are white and blue (check on type of blue).

One of the questions I posed to Jake Adams at February’s meeting was in regards to the other needed colors and spectrum of light. Now it has been said that the blue and white alone does not meet certain spectrums that are needed. But some articles say it is good to have red and I can never remember the other color that is good to have in the light you choose.

With that being said, be very careful in what you select. I keep hearing of people burning or bleaching their corals, so I guess having the ability to dim them is very important. At least the ability of being able to raise and lower the fixture as needed to avoid this issue.

Experiences have been, buy something very cheap and end up with issues. Go mid to high quality would be my advice. I like the options of the Radions, but let’s face it. Who can afford all that money over a 120-240g tank?