Pacifc Coldwater Marine Aquarium keeper, anyone here keep Northwest Atlantic species?

AquaticEngineer

Non-member
Hi all, I was referred to your site by one of my friends who lives in Boston and is setting up a reef tank.

I collect and keep native fish and invertebrates from the Northeast Pacific and was asking my friend about some of the fish native to your area of the Atlantic, specifically the Northern Lined Seahorse (H. Erectus). He told me I should check you guys out since someone here breeds them.

I found out that someone is Kiah and I sent her a PM already :D

So I thought I should formally introduce myself to you all before I start bombarding people who dont know me with PM's full of questions, lol.

My name is Stu and I've been keeping marine fish and inverts for about 20 years now. For the past 2 years I've been keeping nothing but fish and inverts native to my coastline and collecting them all myself.

I have a combined 325 gallon system that has a 200 gallon main display tank (60"x20"x36") a 110 gallon modified ML24BW1 tank I use as a secondary display/sump, and a 20 gallon flow through display tank that right now I am keeping a juvenile Giant Pacific Octopus in. Here's a picture of the system, I've re-arranged it a bit since this was taken but you get the idea ;)
IMG_20111031_183444.jpg

If there is anyone here that keeps any coldwater species or does any collecting in the New England area I would love to get in contact with you :D

Hello,